Skip to main content
Please allow one business day for order processing.
Close this alert
To Get to the Other Side: A Novel

To Get to the Other Side: A Novel

Current price: $16.99
Publication Date: December 6th, 2022
Publisher:
Alcove Press
ISBN:
9781639101382
Pages:
336
Still North Books & Bar
1 on hand, as of Apr 13 2:12pm
On Our Shelves Now

Description

In the vein of Lyssa Kay Adams and Abby Jimenez, Kelly Ohlert’s charming debut is a one-of-a-kind rom-com that explores the power of overcoming the past and fighting for the things you love.

Trixie isn’t exactly sure what she was thinking when she stopped her car in the middle of downtown Chicago, scooped up a chicken struggling to cross the road, and drove off… but she does know that she has to find a new home for herself and her new feathered friend. The landlord at her apartment doesn’t allow pets and has caught Trixie in one too many pet-smuggling attempts in the past.
 
Bear likes his quiet life with his close-knit family, who own a flower business, but he’s in for a rude awakening when his meddlesome sisters post an ad to rent the spare room in his simple home, without asking his permission. Still, when Trixie responds to the ad, he agrees to let her move in, despite immediate worries about keeping things platonic.
 
Determined to keep her new room, befriend Bear, and give her rescue chicken the care she deserves, Trixie fights to keep her walls up and resist her romantic feelings for Bear. However, it’s not long before the pair’s proximity and chicken parenting ignite flames that have Trixie and Bear testing the boundaries of their platonic ground rules. They have to figure out how to save a family business, pay for mounting vet bills, and navigate their own emotional baggage if they want to find the love that they all deserve.
 
Perfect for readers of The Flatshare by Beth O’Leary, and fans of The Friend Zone by Abby Jimenez, readers will find themselves rooting for every one of the relatable, but tenderly flawed, characters in this book as they follow the heartwarming antics of a rescue chicken and her human companions.

About the Author

Kelly Ohlert loves books about… well, love! Since laughter is the best medicine, she’s only doing her civic duty to heal human souls by incorporating humor as well. She’s a lifelong avid reader of all genres, and as a busy mom has an enthusiastic appreciation for audio books and multi-tasking.

Kelly grew up in the Chicago area, but moved to attend Western Michigan University. She stuck around Michigan, hopping from city to city. Her meet cute involved “borrowing” that hot guy’s baseball cap, and it’s been love ever since. She, her husband (the aforementioned ball cap owner), and their two daughters reside in the Lansing area, with their menagerie of pets.

Praise for To Get to the Other Side: A Novel

Praise for To Get to the Other Side:
“[An] adorable debut . . . Breezy humor leavens the themes of self-acceptance and trust.”
Publishers Weekly

“A clever twist on the roommate-friends-to-lovers trope . . . [A] funny, slow-burn romance.”
Booklist

To Get to the Other Side is a sweet and heartwarming debut. Bear and Trixie fill this grumpy-sunshine romance with quirky fun.” 
—Kelly Siskind, author of New Orleans Rush

To Get to the Other Side delivers humor, delightful yearning, and a completely charming meet-cute. Ohlert shows us what's on the other side of the road, and it’s sparkling chemistry.”
—Denise Williams, author of The Fastest Way to Fall