Staff Picks

Enjoy a selection of our staff's favorite recent reads!

Staff Pick Badge
The Interloper: A Novel Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781590512630
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
This book is not returnable.
Published: Other Press - May 17th, 2007

After the murder of his brother-in-law, Owen decides prison isn't enough of a punishment and plots his own revenge: breaking the killer's heart by writing him love letters from a female alias. A dark and inventive journey into a spiraling mind driven mad by obsession. This brilliantly paced psychological thriller will keep you up all night reading!

—Skylar


Staff Pick Badge
Complete Stories Cover Image
By Clarice Lispector, Katrina Dodson (Translated by), Benjamin Moser (Editor)
$21.95
ISBN: 9780811227933
Availability: Available in 3-7 Days
Published: New Directions - June 26th, 2018

Underrepresented genius alert! Only VERY recently translated into english, Lispector's work is bursting with sentences so beautiful they had me screaming aloud in the middle of the night as I read in my bed. I'm not joking! I probably woke the neighbors! Evocative, structurally challenging, and a reminder that the hyper-feminine and the hyper-intellectual belong together. Benjamin Moser, Lispector's biographer, was warned by a teacher in his early study of her: "be careful with Clarice, it's not literature... it's witchcraft."

—Jack


Staff Pick Badge
Obit Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781556595745
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Copper Canyon Press - April 7th, 2020

How do we continue when everything around is ending, including ourselves? Chang's collection of obit-poems to herself, her family, and the life she once knew, might be one kind of response. Written as if language itself were ending and leaving behind the brightest gems, Obit is a piece striving for clarity within the deepest forms of loss. An important read when so much of what we once knew feels both lost and yet, strangely, still here, Chang’s work is certainly one for the times.

—Uyen


Staff Pick Badge
Pony Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780553508116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - September 28th, 2021

RJ Palacio’s Pony is a book you won’t easily forget. A young boy sets out to find his father, and in doing so, finds himself — with a ghost and a mysterious pony at his side. It’s a coming of age story with all the True Grit feels. Palacio’s writing is stunning and completely different from anything else she has written. Read it if you loved Wonder, read it if you didn't. Read it if you love midgrade, read it if you've never read midgrade before!

—Jen


Staff Pick Badge
The Guide: A novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525657767
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - August 24th, 2021

Classic Peter Heller (Class of '80!) that old and new fans will love! Set three years in the future at a fishing lodge where rich clients can escape from the dangers of the outside world, The Guide combines gorgeous, meditative nature writing with heart-pounding twists and turns. Heller's take on a thriller is exactly what we have come to expect from him in the very best way.

—Allie


Staff Pick Badge
Alec: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374102609
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - July 6th, 2021

Well researched and beautifully written, ALEC enters the world of E. M. Forster’s posthumous novel MAURICE, but from the point of view of Alec Scudder, the gamekeeper that Maurice Hall runs away with in what is perhaps English literature’s first queer happy ending. ALEC follows the outlaw lovers as they forge a life together, from a queer countryside utopia, to the battlefields of WWI, and ultimately as they set out out for a new, more accepting world.

—Dustin


Staff Pick Badge
Look: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977443
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - July 5th, 2016

Sharif appropriates phrases from the Department of Defense's Dictionary of Military and Associated Terms to write poems about the effects of the US invasion of Iraq/Afghanistan on her and her family. A great portrait of how America's culture of war influences the way we talk about our most vulnerable relationships.

—Ira


Staff Pick Badge
Anna Dressed in Blood (Anna Dressed in Blood Series #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780765328670
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Teen - July 3rd, 2012

This book is a classic love story between a ghost hunter and a powerful specter. With a cast of engaging and endearing characters, this story is a must-read leading up to Halloween (or at any time you are looking for a delightful blend of horror and romance).

—Zoe


Staff Pick Badge
The Physick Book of Deliverance Dane Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781401341336
Availability: Available in 3-7 Days
Published: Hachette Books - April 6th, 2010

Katherine Howe's debut novel follows Connie Goodwin, a young woman living near Salem, as she delves unwillingly into the past. In the process, she uncovers secrets about her family and the Salem Witch Trials that will change the course of her future forever.

—Andrea


Staff Pick Badge
Desperate Pleasures Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781941250426
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Uncivilized Books - November 17th, 2020

A humorous, vulnerable take on living in a circle of familial trauma. Harkness beautifully chronicles the non-relationships she gets herself into with striking black-and-white illustrations and lucid prose.

—Andy


Staff Pick Badge
Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780307408877
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Crown - March 22nd, 2016

Erik Larson is a master of narrative nonfiction. In this story with an inevitably tragic ending, he manages to bring to life the passengers of the Lusitania, President Wilson, and the U-boat commander and crew responsible for sinking the ship. He tells their stories with care and grace, proving that at the end of the day, we are all human. Dead Wake is personable, thrilling, and against all odds, extraordinarily suspenseful.

—Bess


Staff Pick Badge
Fuzz: When Nature Breaks the Law Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781324001935
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 14th, 2021

Within Roach’s bizarre and wonderful body of work, this may just be the oddest subject yet. Ever wondered how to go about prosecuting an iguana? Look no further.

—Emma


Staff Pick Badge
The Woman in Cabin 10 Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501132957
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - April 11th, 2017

Fans of Agatha Christie and AJ Finn will love this high intensity mystery set in the isolation of a luxury yacht. Ware is adept at maintaining a thrilling momentum while giving her characters a notably contemporary sense of depth and psychological insight. I had to finish this in one day.

—Jon


Staff Pick Badge
Chain of Iron (The Last Hours #2) Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781481431903
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - March 2nd, 2021

If you like epic fantasies, a bit of Victorian romance, and shocking cliff-hangers that keep you on your toes, this book is for you. Follow a new generation of Shadow Hunters as they battle demons and explore the seedy underworld of Downworlders.

—Lydia


Staff Pick Badge
Beautiful World, Where Are You: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780374602604
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - September 7th, 2021

Rooney's new publication is an absolute must read. Once again, we walk in the streets of Ireland with her wonderfully relatable characters, emerged in tales of sex, love, and friendship. She paints a picture of what it's like to be unabashedly human and makes you fall in love with life itself again; every joke, every moment is poignant and real.

—Olivia


The Book of Delights: Essays Cover Image
$23.95
ISBN: 9781616207922
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books - February 12th, 2019

Julián Is a Mermaid Cover Image
By Jessica Love, Jessica Love (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763690458
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - April 23rd, 2018

The Time Traveler's Wife Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781476764832
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - May 6th, 2014

Staff Pick Badge
All's Well: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781982169664
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - August 3rd, 2021

What a wild, creative, and mind-bending ride! All's Well explores chronic pain, karmic justice, and female friendship, all while never losing its snarky wit. Perfect for fans of magical realism, Shakespeare, and thrillers full of spooky twists.

—Skylar